Letter – Henry Richmond to William Darwin – 8 Jan 1773

Document Type: Letter
Date: 8 Jan 1773
Correspondent: Henry Richmond
Recipient: William Darwin
Archive Source: NRO 672/E/1E/3
  • Transcription
  • Comments (0)
  • Change font
    If columns/tables do not appear straight, change font
To Mr Darwin Hatton Street No. 4                                                           Newcas 8. Janry 1773



	Inclosed are two Bills as above; the former, which is for £500, is to Enable you to pay Sr Edward Winningtons half years interest due from Sir Walter Blackett on the 6th. of next month, & in the mean time you will please to place it to my Credit & advise me of the Receipt of it - the other bill for £220 is sent you on Accot. of the Quarterly & other payments  you are to make for Sir Walter in London to 31st March next for which I desire you will send me the usual receipt to be my voucher with him - Sir Walter came here on Monday last and is very well - Mr Fawcett & Mr Wilson had a meeting yesterday at Sir Walter’s about the Bill for dividing Winlaton upon the Plan mentioned in my last Letter and they desire that you will as soon as possible inform yourself with Certainty, of the Clerks of the house or otherwise, whether all the Parties to such a Bill must appear in person before the house of Lords, to give their Consent, or it will be Sufficient to have a Witness to prove their hands to the bill & their consent to the Contents of it.  And you are also desired to learn what is the last day of the Lords receiving petitions for private bills & to communicate these particulars and any others that occur to you to Mr. Jacob Lambert Attorney at Law here; who is now employed for Sir Walter as well as for Sir Edward in this matter - I have told him as near as I can when Mrs Marshall Mrs Bruce & Lady Buchan died - The Council think there will be more trouble in getting the £173. 3s. 0d than in mortgaging  the Estate: so that money must rest; only please to let me know when you have received the last two years Interest of it - P.S.  I wrote you about paying My Brother 5 Guineas - My Letter was directed to Greys Inn but I hope you reced it nevertheless            I am etc    HR

Newcastle Bank 12th December. 1772    £500

Forty Days after date Pay Mr Henry Richmond, or order,  Five hundred Pounds, value in Account as [per] Advice Jonn. Sorsbie Junr.

To Mr Thomas Beston Tooley Street, Southwork London

Pay the Contents to  Mr  William. Alvey Darwin or Order value in Accot  Hen Richmond

£220 Newcastle Bank 2d. Janry. 1773

Thirty Days after date Pay to the order of Mr Heny.  Richmond Two hundred & Twenty Pounds – value received For Bell Cookson Carr Self & Saint  Jno. Widdrington

To Messrs Castell Whately & Powell London                                       

Pay the Contents to Mr William Alvey Darwin or Order Value in Accot.  Hen Richmond

No. 646    

Leave a comment

We welcome further information or corrections on topics and incidents mentioned in individual letters. It might take a while before your comments are checked for adding to public view within the website. We cannot undertake further research in response to questions.

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


General Discussion
Suggested correction or addition


  Return to search results or refine/create new search
The Dukesfield Smelters and Carriers Project aimed to celebrate and discover the heritage of the Dukesfield Arches & lead carriers' routes between Blaydon and the lead mines of Allendale and Weardale. A two year community project, it was led by the Friends of the North Pennines in partnership with Hexhamshire and Slaley Parish Councils and the active support of Allendale Estates. It was funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund and the generous support of other sponsors. Friends of the North Pennines: Charity No:1137467