Letter – Henry Richmond to William Darwin – 13 Apr 1772

Document Type: Letter
Date: 13 Apr 1772
Correspondent: Henry Richmond
Recipient: William Darwin
Archive Source: NRO 672/E/1E/3
  • Transcription
  • Comments (0)
  • Change font
    If columns/tables do not appear straight, change font
To Mr Darwin  - Greys Inn London                                                   Newcas. 13th April 1772


	Inclosed is Bell and C.os bill on Glyn & Co for Two hundred & ninety pounds on Account of the quarterly payments you are to make in London for Sir Walter Blackett between the 31st Ultm & 30th June rent which you will please to place to his Account accordingly and send me the usual receipt for it.  Sir Walter does not contradict the direction about writing to the Rev.n Mr. Hudson.

  He continues still much out of order and gets no sleep.  Dr. Askew is now employed for him and I hope will do him service.  Sir John & Mr. Trevelyan are not come at this time I am writing this but will probably be here this Evening & contribute I hope to divert Sir Walter from that Anxiety about the Bridge & other public Business that distresses him so much & they will prevail upon him I hope to go to Wallington or else where to be out of the way of all Conversation about it.

	That Letter which I inclosed you to Sir John may be returned me if he was set out before you got it.

	Genl. Mackay has a pipe of Madeira coming for Sir Wm. with some of his own to London but Sir Walters is to be sent down hither.  he does not mention the Ship, so the meaning of my naming this to you is only in Case he should when it comes desire your Assistance or even payment both of Duty and Wine etc Charges you may do it - tho it is proposed to him by this post to let his Agent or Broker manage and pay all for Sir Walters wine & that the money will be repaid the General here by me   Care must be taken that a proper Dispatch or permit is sent with the Wine if you are applied to.

	My Brothers Conduct is very bad indeed particularly in the instance you mention.  he has wrote to no body here that I can hear of; which perplexes My Sister a good deal as she must  move to Hexham in a little time.

	Something will be done to morrow about the writings that are in his Office & Closet by Lawyers Clennell and Wilson & Mr Widdrington   I intend to have no Concern with them having no time at present to engage in such a Business  I dare say you will believe.  I am etc


£290 Newcastle Bank    11th April 1772

Thirty days after date pay to the Order of Mr. Hen.y Richmond Two hundred & ninty pounds _ value received For Bell Cookson Carr Self & Saint Jm.o Widdrington

pay the Contents to Mr. Will.m Alvey Darwin or Order value in Acco.t  Hen Richmond   

To Mess.rs Glyn & Hallifax London 

No. 36986.    

Leave a comment

We welcome further information or corrections on topics and incidents mentioned in individual letters. It might take a while before your comments are checked for adding to public view within the website. We cannot undertake further research in response to questions.

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


General Discussion
Suggested correction or addition


  Return to search results or refine/create new search
The Dukesfield Smelters and Carriers Project aimed to celebrate and discover the heritage of the Dukesfield Arches & lead carriers' routes between Blaydon and the lead mines of Allendale and Weardale. A two year community project, it was led by the Friends of the North Pennines in partnership with Hexhamshire and Slaley Parish Councils and the active support of Allendale Estates. It was funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund and the generous support of other sponsors. Friends of the North Pennines: Charity No:1137467